As Luck Would Have It

 

The ocean can be a calming place when you need it to be, and that’s why Jonathan found himself on “Thoughtful Cliff,” overlooking the Atlantic on the north eastern coast of Maine this evening.

The moment he reached the peak he got on his knees, and as he stared across the sea he said, “God, I don’t know if you can hear me, and maybe You don’t care, but I need you now. It’s been years, and I have done everything I could think of to change who I am and to become the person I thought I needed to be, and yet all I have done is lose, time and time again, why can’t I catch a break.”

He heard a sniffle behind him, and as he turned he was met by a woman he had never met before, “Hey she said,” with a quirky smile, as she wiped her tears away, “This might be our lucky day. Wanna take a swim with me?”

The stranger grabbed his hand, and together they jumped off the edge laughing the whole way down.

Lillie McFerrin Writes

7 thoughts on “As Luck Would Have It”

  1. This is interesting as one can interpret the ending two ways. It seemed to me that she was there with the same thoughts and together they jumped from the cliff to their deaths. Very intriguing.

HEY! Tell me what you think, MUCH appreciated!

